Becoming a Leader People want to Follow

After being in class learning about leadership, I ask myself, “will I become a leader that people want to follow?” Year after year, students sign up to be in my class because they love having me as their teacher. Teaching is the instructional form of leadership, but will this make me a great leader that people want to follow?  I am also a mentor for new teachers responsible for  guiding and modeling what is needed to be a successful teacher, but will this make me a great leader that people want to follow? Finally, I am a Department Chair and I hold PLC meetings to report information from building administrators to the elective team, but will this make me a great leader that people want to follow?  Most would say that the previous job responsibilities are giving me the training needed to be a leader that people want to follow. Mark Miller  published a book that has some key components that will help leaders gain followers. The name of the book is The Heart of Leadership : Becoming the Leader that People Want to Follow. If you have time, please read a great book.  http://bit.ly/1oSeSJC

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

