Supporting Good Teachers During These Stressful Times

I began reading this article and immediately thought of the amazing teachers that I have worked with that chose to retire earlier than they had planned because of  similar circumstances.  Not to mention the times I have thought, ” I don’t know if I can do this anymore” while working until late in the night to catch up with the many procedural tasks that had piled up.  I hope that when I become a leader I will be able to create solutions to these struggles and support the teachers that work with me.  I believe that students’ attitudes towards their school and education are directly effected by the enthusiasm of their teachers.  All good teachers have learned the skill of “putting on a good face” and “acting as if” but we are human and something must give!

Why Good Teachers Quit?

About Lindsey Hurlburt

I am a mother of an energetic little boy, a high school art teacher, and a very tired artist. I formally studied art at Virginia Commonwealth University, earning a B.F.A. in Painting and Printmaking in 2001 as well as a B.F.A. in Art Education in 2005. I exhibit my work in small galleries in the Richmond area and work part-time creating individual portrait commissions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

